Colorful Neutrals

September 22, 2011 § 1 Comment

The other day, as I was getting dressed for a night out, I gazed into my closet and was suddenly struck by the inordinate amount of neutral-colored garments staring back at me.   My closet is practically a complete sea of neutrals.  Literally, almost every piece in my wardrobe is some variation of black, white, creme, grey, beige, camel, etc, with a few prints and pops of color here and there.  “How god awful! How boring!” I thought.  Especially in the wake of the wide array of beautifully loud, and sometimes wonderfully strange color combinations over the past couple of years coming out of fashion houses like Prada, Gucci, Jil Sander, Marc Jacobs, Marni, Celine, Dries Van Noten, Prabal Gurung, and Proenza Schouler to name a few.

                                            Gucci Spring 2011 RTW

                                             Prada Spring 2011 RTW

                                         Jil Sander Spring 2011 RTW

                                     Prabal Gurung Spring 2011 RTW

                                       Marc Jacobs Spring 2011 RTW

                                              Marni Fall 2011 RTW

                                              Celine Fall 2011 RTW

                                       Prabal Gurung Fall 2011 RTW

                                      Dries Van Noten Fall 2011 RTW

                                     Proenza Schouler Fall 2012 RTW

I suddenly felt like, “WHERE have I been?? Have I completely missed the color train??”  Where were the fuschias, teals, oranges, and deep purples??!?  Immediately at work the next day I purchased a lovely chartreuse chiffon blouse to ease my woes, but the truth is that in my heart of hearts, I still love neutrals.  I gravitate to them when I shop and usually opt for black if anything.  I love color on other people, but rarely choose it for myself.  Does this mean that my personal style is just a complete snooze??  Or that I am subconsciously bucking trends?

Whatever the case, I will say that while I’m still trying to incorporate more color into my wardrobe, mostly just for the fun of it, I was very pleased indeed to see Gucci’s glorious display of neutrals–mostly shimmering blacks, whites, and golds–in its Spring 2012 RTW collection this week.  Here Frida Giannini gives us neutrals that feel just as modern as the recent color-blocking trend.  She reminds us that neutrals are far from boring.  In fact, they can be rich and fantastic as well.  These are neutrals at their most colorful:

                                             Gucci Spring 2012 RTW

All images courtesy of Style.com

XO,

Belle

§ One Response to Colorful Neutrals

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Colorful Neutrals at Belles 'n' Beaux.

meta

