Work it Baby

September 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of walking in high-end boutique owner Jeffrey Kalinsky’s annual ‘Fashion Cares’ runway show in Atlanta.  This renowned event, which benefits AIDS and breast cancer charities, is one that I’ve had the fortune of being a part of for several years now.  As much fun as this show is to be in, it’s also always tinged with a bit of nerve-racking anxiety, given that it’s a pretty big event for the social elite and fashion-forward crowd of this Southern city.

Mr. Kalinsky, stylish and talented as he is, can dish out some mildly cutting remarks and/or looks to those of us who are lucky enough to be selected to be fitted for, and thus walk in, his show.  At a fitting two years ago betwixt remarks from Jeffrey and his entourage such as  “No, I really see this piece on a smaller girl,” and “No, this look just doesn’t SING on her,” I found myself seemingly pleasing this hard-to-please crowd when I emerged from the fitting room dawning an absolutely stunning emerald green satin L’Wren Scott dress.  Apparently my “curves” were well suited for said dress.  Mind you, I was, and still am, a size 4; so to say that I had the “voluptuous” body that this particular dress called for is pretty ludicrous.  Lets just say that compared to the 16-year-old pre-pubescent-looking models that I was to share the runway with that upcoming Monday night, I was more like a curvaceous, Botticelli-esque Venus-on-the-half-shell type.

                                          Image courtesy of Style.com

Anyway, back to the story and to the dress, THE DRESS!  That is the first and only time I have ever tried on a L’Wren Scott piece, and let me just say, that woman knows how to dress the female body.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt sexier in an item of clothing than I did in that particular dress.  The look was from Scott’s Fall 2009 RTW collection, and the tailoring was an absolute dream.  Apparently my “voluptuous” 6’1” frame was just what this piece called for to be filled out properly and I couldn’t have been prouder or more excited to slink down the runway sporting it.  Perhaps I don’t have the waif-like frame of a Kate Moss look-a-like, but I looked damn good in this dress, if I do say so myself.  I felt elegant, refined, and powerful—reveling in my sex appeal in this dress the night of the show, I was ready to S-T-R-U-T down that catwalk!  To my complete shock and horror however, the moment that I stepped out onto the runway, music a-blaring, one of my beautiful navy suede Miu Miu pumps slipped off of my opaque hosiery-clad foot!  “This is an utter DISASTER!!!” I thought.  Literally, I wanted to die, or if not that, I wanted to take off running for the nearest exit….or watering hole.  Luckily, a very sweet, and probably, at that point in the evening, very well-lit man immediately came to my aid and slipped the pump back on my then quivering left foot.  Quite the Cinderella story.  So my shoe found its way back on, but what about the dress!?!  This dress was supposed to have SUCH a moment!!  I literally felt that I had failed the dress and Ms. Scott herself!  (Not to mention the then sour-faced Kalinsky glaring at me in the crowd.)  But you know what I did?  I did not in fact slink off the runway, tail between my legs.  No, instead, like Carrie Bradshaw in the Sex and the City episode where she plays the “non-model” and completely face-plants whilst strutting down the runway in her sparkling D&G panties and little else, I picked myself back up, took a deep breath and kept on walking, albeit cautiously, shoulders back, with a smile on my face.  And in the end, although the perfect dress did not get its perfect moment, it was all just fine.  And that, my dears, is the moral of this story.  That, and the fact that if you dare to sport hosiery and a 6-inch pump, you absolutely must keep double-sided tape and foot pads on hand, or on foot as the case may be.

XOXO

Your ever-devoted Belle of belles’n’beaux

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Work it Baby at Belles 'n' Beaux.

meta

