Perfect Pairing

August 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

I am well aware that John Galliano is currently a social pariah within the fashion world (and the world at-large) following his anti-Semitic outburst last February. However, it would be a blatant lie to ever claim that he is anything but a genius when it comes to design.

Last Saturday I opened the September issue of Vogue and sat with mouth agape over Kate Moss’s flawless wedding gown designed by Galliano. This piece of wearable art captured Moss’s personality by combining seemingly different elements of her personal style, and it served as evidence of the bond between the designer and the model. Also, I find it endearing that Moss stood by her friend, the social outcast of the fashion world, and shot the bird at the overly politically correct fashion powers-that-be. While there is no excuse for Galliano’s behavior and I in no way condone it, there’s something to be said for forgiveness.

Obviously, I can’t know whether the designer’s hateful rant actually was drug and alcohol induced as claimed (though I really want to believe it was). However, I do know that John Galliano could hate me personally, and I would still wear his shit. He really is just that talented. But that’s just one opinion; do with it what you will. Below, I’ve added some fun and appropriately ridiculous images of the “Perfect Pairing” throughout the years and taken the liberty of adding some dialogue. Their mutual affection is palpable.

“Say ‘cheese’. Or say ‘lush’, whatever.”

“I know, dahhhling! “

“I love you because of your pigtails, not in spite of your pig tails.”

“Oooohhh, no! We really need to talk about that perm…”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Perfect Pairing at Belles 'n' Beaux.

meta

